FANDOM


Turfs (2)

All turfs in order of priority. Turfs with higher priority will partly cover other turfs.

The ground. You step on it.

Wickerbottom

Turfs are floor and ground tile items. They can be dug up with a Pitchfork and used for decoration or fuel. Turfs can fuel all structures except the Night Light. Turfs cannot be used to fertilize plants.

Wilson with a Pitchfork and tile digging indicator visible

Turfs generally don't affect Mobs except:

  • Some birds only land on certain turfs and certain seasons.
  • BFB cannot land on deep rainforest and gas rainforest turfs because they have a canopy. It cannot land on all kinds of turfs in the Pig City, either.
  • Spider nests create a special turf called Sticky Webbing, which slows the player and some Mobs down.

Roads and Trails are not turfs and cannot be moved.

Surface TurfsEdit

Don't Starve, its Reign of Giants DLC and Don't Starve Together, and have almost the same surface and cave turfs.

Biome/Tier Turf Name Code Priority
Forest Forest Turf Forest Turf "turf_forest"
Grasslands Grass Turf Grass Turf "turf_grass"
Marsh
Alchemy Engine (Wurt Portrait) Don't Starve Together icon
Marsh Turf Marsh Turf "turf_marsh"
Rockyland
Pinacle Hamlet icon
Rocky Turf Rocky Turf "turf_rocky"
Savanna Savanna Turf Savanna Turf "turf_savanna"
Reign of Giants icon Deciduous Forest Deciduous Turf Reign of Giants icon Deciduous Turf "turf_deciduous"
Reign of Giants icon Desert Sandy Turf Reign of Giants icon Sandy Turf "turf_desertdirt"
Don't Starve Together icon Lunar Forest Moon Crater Turf Don't Starve Together icon Moon Crater Turf "turf_meteor"
Don't Starve Together icon Rocky Beach Turf Rocky Beach Turf Don't Starve Together icon Rocky Beach Turf "turf_pebblebeach"

Cave TurfsEdit

If the player digs up a Runic Turf, it will be destroyed.

Biome/Tier Turf Name Code Priority
Sunken Forest Mud Turf Mud Turf "turf_mud"
Sunken Forest Slimey Turf Slimey Turf "turf_sinkhole"
Mushtree Forest Fungal Turf Blue Fungal Turf "turf_fungus"
Rocky Plains &

Stalagmite Terrain

Cave Rock Turf Cave Rock Turf "turf_underrock"
Rocky Plains &

Stalagmite Terrain

Guano Turf Guano Turf "turf_cave"

Craftable TurfsEdit

Craftable turfs can be crafted or found in set pieces. Cobblestones gives the player 30% faster movement. Scaled Flooring reduces heat.

In the Shipwrecked DLC, Puddles cannot spawn on craftable turfs but they can still flood them.

Biome/Tier Turf Name Code Priority
Science Machine Wooden Flooring Wooden Flooring "turf_woodfloor"
Alchemy Engine Cobblestones Cobblestones "turf_road"
Alchemy Engine Carpeted Flooring Carpeted Flooring "turf_carpetfloor"
Science Machine Checkerboard Flooring Checkerboard Flooring "turf_checkerfloor"
Alchemy Engine Scaled Flooring Scaled Flooring Don't Starve Together icon "turf_dragonfly"
Lunar Forest / Icon Celestial Moon Crater Turf Moon Crater Turf Don't Starve Together icon "turf_meteor"
Hermit Island / Blueprint (rare) Shell Beach Turf Shell Beach Turf Don't Starve Together icon "turf_shellbeach"

Shipwrecked icon Shipwrecked TurfsEdit

Coffee Plant and Elephant Cactus can only be planted on ashy, magma, or volcanic turfs, but they can grow on any turf after they have been planted.

Biome/Tier Turf Name Code Priority
Jungle Jungle Turf Jungle Turf "turf_jungle"
Magma Field Magma Turf Magma Turf "turf_magmafield"
Tidal Marsh Tidal Marsh Turf Tidal Marsh Turf "turf_tidalmarsh"
Meadow Meadow Turf Meadow Turf "turf_meadow"
Volcano Ashy Turf Ashy Turf "turf_ash"
Volcano Volcano Turf Volcano Turf "turf_volcano"
Alchemy Engine Snakeskin Rug Snakeskin Rug "turf_snakeskinfloor"

Hamlet icon Hamlet TurfsEdit

Nettle can be planted on any turf, but they can only grow on dense or deep rainforest turfs. The player cannot use a Pitchfork to dig up deep rainforest and gas rainforest turfs. Pitchfork will lose all of its durability if the player try to dig up gas rainfores turfs. Stone Road Turf gives the player 30% faster movement. Stone Road Turf, Flat Stone Turf and Lawn Turf prevents BFB from landing.

Biome/Tier Turf Name Code Priority
Painted Painted Sand Turf Painted Sand Turf "turf_painted"
Cultivated Alchemy Engine Cultivated Turf Cultivated Turf "turf_fields"
Pig City Alchemy Engine Lawn Turf Lawn Turf "turf_lawn"
Pig City Key to the City Flat Stone Turf Flat Stone Turf "turf_foundation"
Pig City Key to the City Stone Road Turf Stone Road Turf "turf_cobbleroad"
Suburbs Mossy Turf Mossy Turf "turf_moss"
Rainforest Rainforest Turf Rainforest Turf "turf_rainforest"
Wild Plains Wild Plains Turf Wild Plains Turf "turf_plains"
Science Machine Beard Hair Rug Beard Hair Rug turf_beard_hair"
Alchemy Engine Dense Turf Dense Turf "turf_deeprainforest_nocanopy"

PriorityEdit

Marsh 1

One Marsh Turf surrounded by eight Sandy Turfs. The Sandy Turf is dominant, so the Marsh Turf is smaller.

Marsh 8

One Sandy Turf surrounded by eight Marsh Turfs. Again, the Sandy Turf is dominant and larger, despite there being only one.

Turfs with higher priority or "dominance" will partly cover other turfs. For example, a Carpeted Flooring turf will always partly cover a Checkerboard Flooring turf when they are next to each other. Turf priority is purely aesthetic.

The following list starts with the highest priority turf, going to the lowest priority turf.

Don't Starve Edit

Turfs priority order

Don't Starve Together Edit

Placeholder Trivia Edit

Blueprint Gallery Edit

Turfs
Surface Turf Forest TurfGrass TurfSavanna TurfRocky TurfMarsh Turf
(Deciduous TurfSandy Turf Reign of Giants icon) (Jungle TurfMeadow TurfMagma TurfTidal Marsh Turf Shipwrecked icon) (Cultivated TurfFlat Stone TurfLawn TurfMossy TurfPainted Sand TurfRainforest TurfStone Road TurfWild Plains Turf Hamlet icon) (Moon Crater TurfRocky Beach TurfShell Beach Turf Don't Starve Together icon)
Cave Turf Mud TurfGuano TurfSlimey TurfFungal TurfCave Rock Turf
Volcano Turf Shipwrecked icon Ashy TurfVolcano Turf
Craftable Turf Wooden FlooringCarpeted FlooringCheckerboard FlooringCobblestones
(Snakeskin Rug Shipwrecked icon) (Beard Hair RugDense Turf Hamlet icon) (Scaled Flooring Don't Starve Together icon)
Related Sticky WebbingPitchfork

Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.